Capsules are a common dosage form in daily health management. It comes in packages or in sticky and dissolvable envelopes. Capsules are mostly tasteless and are used as a coating for liquid or paste medicines. It can be composed of gelatin, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC), and starch. Those made from materials other than gelatin are called vegetarian capsules. When choosing a capsule, you should know which one is right for you. Capsules can be divided into vegetarian and gelatin capsules depending on the source.

gelatin capsule

The gelatin capsule shell is of animal origin. Gelatin capsules consist of gelatin, which can be hard or soft. They are hydrolyzed from cow, fish or pig collagen.

The gelatin used to make the capsules has many health benefits for you. It aids in digestion, protects joints, and helps reduce joint pain. It can also improve your sleep and cognitive function. Gelatin capsules are highly flexible and easier to formulate.

Vegetarian Capsules

Vegetarian capsules are also known as HPMC or starch-based shells. Unlike gelatin capsules, they are of plant origin. They are mainly composed of cellulose. The type of cellulose used in vegetarian capsules is hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC). Long-term use of vegetarian capsules is non-toxic and has no potential harm to health.

Gelatin capsules or vegetarian capsules

When choosing a capsule, when considering factors such as cost, dissolution, and mechanical stability, the gelatin capsule type will be best for you. Gelatin capsules dissolve easily in your stomach and release the active ingredient for absorption. It has one of the best API dissolution rates. Due to its high solubility, the drug is easily absorbed by the body. Opting for capsules made of gelatin will be the best option for a quick onset.

Hexin Capsule Co., Ltd. is an Empty HPMC Capsules Wholesaler in China. It produces and sells Quick Dissolving Capsules and other empty capsules all year round.